29-year-old medical scribe looking for help...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Samvandam55

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am nervous and anxious about sharing my story and asking for any help, but here it goes.
My name is Sam and I currently feel hopeless and lost in the journey to get into medical school. So much so that I have been pushing off applying for medical school for the past 2-3 years. Before proceeding, let me put in my timeline

2009-2013 Undergraduate (GPA 3.4, sGPA 3.3)
2014-2015 Post-baccalaureate ( sGPA 3.7)
2015-2016 EMT classes and ended up working as a scribe instead
2016-now Working as a scribe, then as a medical scribe/MA at an urgent care

Since taking the EMT classes, I have taken the MCAT twice ( 498 1st MCAT, canceled the second time) and I feel that the 5 gap years have now placed me in a more difficult position to get into medical school. Now, I am not sure if I need to retake prerequisite classes over again. To make things worse, I have been told by my PCP that I might have ADHD and I am scheduled for an assessment ( which explains a lot of my shortcoming)

So my question is what I need to do get back on track to be a great applicant. Any help would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

You need to focus solely on taking the MCAT and nothing else, and rock it out. Maybe get to the root of why you are struggling to get a higher score and change those habits. Get your ADHD treated ( it's okay, you can do this!). Just focus on that MCAT.

I don't think you're necessarily off track. You've used your gap years to amass significant paid clinical experience. That'll be great for your application. Your GPAs are passable, and your pre-reqs aren't too old for most places, so you don't need to retake them.