27 (1st try) to 35 (re-take) - What I did

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CavsFan2016

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I always thought it was really helpful when I saw other user's study schedules for the MCAT, so I thought I would share my story as well.

I took the old MCAT in January 2014 and got a 27 (10/9/8) 60th percentile. I was a little depressed, thinking my chances of getting into an MD program were over. Plus with the switch to the new MCAT, I was feeling overwhelmed. However, I dug deep and slowly began preparing for the new MCAT, eventually pulling off a score of 517 12 months later.

Here was how I studied:

EK set of Review Books (Complete)
~ went through each book and typed up the important information that I didn't understand
~ reviewed the notes I wrote daily

PR (just the Biology/Biochemistry Review Book and Psyc/Soc Review Book)
~ Just to nail down the topics that I was a little weak on

EK 101 Passages
~ a couple passages (TIMED! Very important) every week

Khan Academy
~ Great help for studying for Psych/Soc section

As you study and review the material, try to make connections with everything you are studying - don't think "I'm just studying chemistry right now". Think how this relates to biology/the human body, etc.

Began going through AAMC Practice material and NextStep Practice Exams 2 months before my exam.
~ Make sure you complete EVERYTHING of the AAMC material and understand every question - ESPECIALLY THE SECTION BANKS --> these are your best guide and the most difficult material AAMC releases - if you can get these down, the actual MCAT will feel much more comfortable to you.
~ go through practice questions 2 or 3 times - even if you know the answer, make sure you understand WHY it's the right answer - that's critical.