24 year old career changer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rosietechgal

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking for some candid advice. Here's a bit of background on me:

Ever since I can remember I've wanted to help others by pursuing a career in medicine. I was an honors student in high school and breezed through without trying. Fast forward to my freshman year of college. I had no established work ethic, which made me hate school. I ended up dropping out. I've now been in the business/corporate time working full time for the last four years. In January I enrolled in school to finish my degree. I regret not putting effort into school at 18. I'm now 24 and wondering if it's too late to try and pursue a career in medicine? I'll complete my bachelors by December of 2019. I'm wondering if it's ok to take my science classes at community college since I'm a non traditional student? Will I even have a chance at Med School? My degree will be a bachelors of Computer Science and I'm hoping by having all of the necessary prerequisites I will be ok. I'm also considering completing certified nurse assistant training so that I can work as one while in school. Does anyone have any thoughts or advice on this? Or anyone in a similar situation? I'm hoping I haven't missed my chance.

Members don't see this ad.

My son is slightly older than you.

*I* am the premed (well, he is too).

Your question again? :)

Reactions: 1 users
You're fine! My start was similar to yours. First two years I didn't care, had a few retakes and a bunch of C's. My last year of engineering school I decided to pursue medicine. I finished my degree, did a year of prereqs at my local state college, did some hospital volunteering, shadowed two doctors, took the MCAT and got into a DO school. I'm 25 right now and I'll be starting in July. Below is my original "what are my chances" post right after taking the MCAT.