2014 Match, am I too late already?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ETPH

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am an IMG, I just took step 1, still waiting for the results.

It is evident I wont have the ECFMG certificate in September, I think I will need 3 months for CK and 3 weeks for CS, that is end October if I take CS first, or January if I take first the CK, according to official calendar.

I have a good CV, a PhD and good record of publications.

What should I do? stop running and give up until 2015? or run and do my best? only thing I need to know is if I have ANY possibility.....

Most programs I checked require ECFMG certificate ON HAND for interview. I am applying for psychiatry.

I am surprised because the time line in First aide for step 2 CS appears like it is normal to get ECFMG certificate by January (page 12, last edition)

Thank you for your time and advise ;)

Members don't see this ad.

Since you won't be really starting interviews until December as long as you can have ECFMG certificate by then you should be fine. I think you should apply for 2014.

Hi Guys
i am an IMG, I was a pediatrician in my country fellow on Critical Care . just passed CScfirst attempt . will sit for step 1 next month and CK at the end od september . i will aplly tp Pediatrics. i am wondering is at the time that i get my CK result is too late to apply? Also i saw on FREIDA that many oeds program do not require CK at the time of application?
Any comment will be appreciated !

Hi Guys
i am an IMG, I was a pediatrician in my country fellow on Critical Care . just passed CScfirst attempt . will sit for step 1 next month and CK at the end od september . i will aplly tp Pediatrics. i am wondering is at the time that i get my CK result is too late to apply? Also i saw on FREIDA that many oeds program do not require CK at the time of application?
Any comment will be appreciated !