2 months 2 week 2 days...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oreosandsake

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm trying to figure out how much time i should devote to studying for step 2

i have scheduled one less intensive rotation to go take both step 2 and the clinical exam...

does the rule of 2's hold true?

also, i saw in some other threads that a lot of students said their score from step 1 to step 2 didn't change much. i am quite okay with that, with the caveat that i studied like a monster for step1 and started studying 5 months prior to the real thing.

in my case then, should it be 5Months, 5 weeks, 5 days???

Members don't see this ad.

5 months? Wow.

I studied 6 weeks hardcore (maybe 3-4 half days off) for Step 1.

I studied 4 weeks part-time (with at least a week of downtime) for Step 2.

Ended up beating my Step 1 score. If you are going to really buckle down and study, 2 weeks is probably enough.

Oreos:

Are you taking just COMLEX or USMLE as well?

If just comlex - 2 intense weeks is totally doable.

I spent 2 weeks during interview season w/ USMLE Secrets, Savarese and COMBANK (~800q's) and it was enough to beat my step 1 score by 40 pts.

If taking USMLE, you may need a little more time to thoroughly get through UWorld.

Good luck.

i'm trying to figure out how much time i should devote to studying for step 2

i have scheduled one less intensive rotation to go take both step 2 and the clinical exam...

does the rule of 2's hold true?

also, i saw in some other threads that a lot of students said their score from step 1 to step 2 didn't change much. i am quite okay with that, with the caveat that i studied like a monster for step1 and started studying 5 months prior to the real thing.

in my case then, should it be 5Months, 5 weeks, 5 days???

thanks for the responses.