This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aorta22

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey!
Duke MBS alum here from the 1st year class of 2016. Currently an MS2 at Duke school of Medicine. The MBS program was a fantastic program for me, it helped solidify my intentions of applying to medical school and has absolutely prepared me for medical school curricula. Since I graduated they have continued to adapt the program to student and faculty feedback and it has only gotten better. Some things I found to be highlights included EMT training and shifts, to provide real patient experiences instead of just shadowing. Cadaveric dissection to augment anatomy learning and expose you one of the most sacred parts of medical training; the selfless gift of someone’s body. Team based learning, which is a skill that can be learned and improved upon and is absolutely crucial to success in modern medicine. Faculty mentoring for self development, and a great place to learn because it’s Duke and it has a giant academic medical center attached to it and an undergrad campus with great facilities to use.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello all, and a special "shout out" to the original poster for getting this started. My name is Kevin, and I am currently working on my application (well, taking a break from my essays, anyway). I attended (one of) the information session(s) and it was fantastic! The students, both current and former, in addition to the staff, seemed very knowledgeable and caring, and the whole environment appeared like it fostered individual and group growth. There was a large portion devoted to group learning, as this appeared to be a major aspect of their curriculum, which would be quite applicable to future endeavors in my desired fields. In fact, this is one of the major selling points of the program for me. Best of luck to everyone!