Psych programs for below average stats students...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

W19

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
3rd year US MD student from bottom 10 schools worried about matching into a psych program..

Step1 score: 215-220
Class rank: 4th quartile
3rd year grades: Will probably be all 'Bs' .... Hard to get As in clerkship at my school
Research: Nothing outstanding
Red flags: None so far

Can some of you name some psych programs that I might have a legitimate shot at? I am willing to do my residency anywhere in the country...

I am going to start compiling a list of programs (~50+) during Christmas break...

Members don't see this ad.

you omitted the most important stat- any actual interest in psych?

Only a member of the psych interest group at my school... I am a nontrad student with a family, so it's hard for me to be involved in any other activities. I actually think my grades has suffered in med school because of that. It's hard 'juggling' the demands of family and med school together...

Members don't see this ad :)
3rd year US MD student from bottom 10 schools worried about matching into a psych program..

Step1 score: 215-220
Class rank: 4th quartile
3rd year grades: Will probably be all 'Bs' .... Hard to get As in clerkship at my school
Research: Nothing outstanding
Red flags: None so far

Can some of you name some psych programs that I might have a legitimate shot at? I am willing to do my residency anywhere in the country...

I am going to start compiling a list of programs (~50+) during Christmas break...

What region are you looking to go to? Suggestions without knowing that will be very difficult.