Neuropsych Testing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psych20122

Reaction score
I am a licensed clinical psychologist in NYS as well as a school psychologist with over 10 years of child assessment experience. I was recently contacted by an assessment agency who offered me a fee to conduct a neuropsychological evaluation on a child suspected of a learning disability.

Am I not allowed to do this because I am not a board approved neuropsych? Nor am I under the supervision of one.
I don’t have additional post-doc specializations but have administered many tests typically used during neuropsychs.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends, how does your state define scope of practice and competency in practice areas. In some states, I could see you putting yourself at much greater liability with a potential board complaint, and in some states, they could care less. It sounds like this is something that if you've had experience in, it's been >10 years, is this true?

Reactions: 1 user
Depends, how does your state define scope of practice and competency in practice areas. In some states, I could see you putting yourself at much greater liability with a potential board complaint, and in some states, they could care less. It sounds like this is something that if you've had experience in, it's been >10 years, is this true?
Yes since 2013.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a licensed clinical psychologist in NYS as well as a school psychologist with over 10 years of child assessment experience. I was recently contacted by an assessment agency who offered me a fee to conduct a neuropsychological evaluation on a child suspected of a learning disability.

Am I not allowed to do this because I am not a board approved neuropsych? Nor am I under the supervision of one.
I don’t have additional post-doc specializations but have administered many tests typically used during neuropsychs.