Career change options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hum1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working as a psychotherapist for the past 15 years but would like to do something different. I also teach occasionally as an adjunct however do not see this as a main career due to the low pay and precarious working conditions. What are other work options with a doctorate in psychology in the US? I am leaning towards assessment, however I have never focused on assessment so I would probability need further training. Where would be a good starting point? I looked at Pearson's website but the trainings are so expensive. What other options are there? Thank you for your thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

A. Overall
i. I am concerned that you consider the Pearson price point to be expensive. That statement, combined with your desire to do something else, says "I'm not paid enough". Maybe I'm wrong. But if I'm right, if you're in a job, look at the salary surveys, and ask for a raise. If you're in PP, I would strongly encourage you to raise your prices, and ask private insurers for a raise. Look for reimbursement data online. Make some calls to your competitors' offices and ask what they charge per hour for a private pay session. Get rid of the bad insurances, or the ones that give you the worst patients.
ii. Look at jobs elsewhere. I know, I know, you have 18M reasons why you can't. But it might be cheaper to move to a new job than other options.

B. Retraining

i. You should not get training from a test publisher.
ii. If you want to gain assessment training, there are a few programs from educational institutions. That would take about 2 years, with tuition costs, and then you’re looking at a minimum of $3k to buy enough tests to get started.