Your Opinion - Am I a Fit?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Coop05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in need of some advice and guidance...

I've been wanting to pursue an MPH for a while now, but have held back from officially applying for a number of reasons. For the most part, after graduation, I knew that I had some figuring out to do (self discovery or what have you -- I graduated at 21) before officially committing to something that I could regret without proper thought or consideration.

I graduated with a BA in Political Science from a University of California in Summer of 2009 with an overall GPA of 3.4. During my time in undergrad I participated in a slew of extracurricular activities, but those mainly revolved around my participation in politics. I worked for a presidential campaign (while attending school full-time) for two years and had key leadership roles throughout my time there. After the campaign ended, I basically gave up my life in politics because the experience jaded me...and led me to believe that perhaps there was no room for idealists in this world.

January 2009, I signed myself up for an EMT program (while still attending regular classes at my UC) because what I learned from the campaign was that I enjoyed person-to-person contact and was interested in learning the basics of pre-hospital care (especially after a personal traumatic event). I obtained my certificate, but never took the NREMT. I plan to one day return to EMS work temporarily (my clinical experience was spectacular to say the least), but probably not until January 2012 (will probably retake the class, and pass NREMT).