young interest

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aram

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a freshman in highschool, but I am almost done with the first two years of pre-med on the side with a biochem. major, and I plan to be a Cardiothoracic Surgeon when I grow older. I have read many messages in this forum and have learned that CT Surgery is becoming a dying field which greatly upsets me. Though I have no clue about recent technological advances in that field, I would like to ask you, the experienced ones, what does the field entail in today's modern day? Is it still possible to go into this field, or shall I just set my interests towards a more stable field of surgery such as Vascular? Also, could you please inform me as much as possible about the life of a CT surgeon? Thank you

Sincerely, Justin M. (13)

Members don't see this ad.

It's great that you have the sort of drive and the smarts to take college classes at the ripe age of 13. I could only wish to have those traits when I was that age.

With that being said I would really encourage you "test" yourself if medicine is right for you; become an ER volunteer, an EMT, burn unit volunteer, etc... Make sure that you can handle the blood and guts, the p!ss and puke, and the death and dying that go along caring for patient.

Best of luck. Peace.

and also, u will be applying to med school in another 8 to 9 years, things will definitely have changed then, so focus on ur high school grades and college,and when u get to med school, u can decide, k?

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by aram