Young grasshopper in need of some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oniginta

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

First of all, this is my first post so I would like say salutations to all the pre-meds and meds out there! I hope that in the months to come, I will be able to learn a lot from you guys!

I'm actually posting this because I really need some advice. As of right now, I'm a sophomore in University at Buffalo and being the overambitious person, I've been trying to graduate in three years instead of the normal four and then to go to medical school. In terms of graduating, I'm set. However, I've been having a lot of trouble with the time line for applying to medical school.

UB holds their prehealth committee in April and in September. Due to various reasons like not being able to take the MCATs until June/July and summer courses, I naturally would not be able to attend the April committee, which means that I will have to settle for the September one. That in turn means that I will be applying late. I don't know whether or not I should go with the late application -.-

Here are my current stats:
3.916 GPA
no MCAT scores yet but on the practice ones, I've been getting 33-35.
2 semesters of research
2 summers and one semester of shadowing various doctors
50+ hours on local volunteering
Various clubs like breakdancing and martial arts

Thank you guys so much for reading this post! I know that I might come off as *****ic or crazy but please advise me so I can avoid any pitfalls! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Get more volunteering.

Applying late will not do you good.

Members don't see this ad :)
Are you required to have an MCAT score before you can get a letter from the committee? Don't you just need to submit a list of required letters?