Young doctor wants to move to Germany

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KipiLV

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello guys

Im graduate from the Medical University and I have some questions about moving to Germany and I really hope you could spare few minutes to give me a good advice!

Last summer I graduated from the medical University in Lettland (Latvia), Riga.

I didnt apply for internship because I wanted to move to Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

There are several reasons why I wanted to move abroad

1) Salary is better than in Lettland

2) Moreover, better internship progam, but on the other hand German is difficult language to learn.

So right after graduation I continued learning Deutsch but more intensive with private teacher and in February I applied for TestDaF exam. I passed all parts of the exam except Hoervestehen for B2.

Unfortunately I didn't know what exam was required for me and a result I passed the wrong one. However, I know now than I need Goethe or Telc exam. At the moment I am doing my best to be prepared for these exams.

I managed to secure an assistance positions in Germany in May in one small Hospital, but unfortunately they cancelled everything due some technical issue . . . It was really upseting, because I planned my flights and paid for accommodation!

As a result of all above right now I cant find any possitions in Latvia in medicine sphere for about 1 month, because Im not in internship. I wasnt expecting to stay so long in Latvia after graduation, and wanted to move to Germany straight away.