All Branch Topic (ABT) You said it would happen

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Atlas Shrugged

Family Medicine
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
With the 2017 NDAA passed (although not signed yet) I am having my first regrets in joining and I'm only a medical student. If they can screw with my BAH that severely without any change in my contract that is an incredible red flag. How can one make a career out of such an unstable foundation?

Members don't see this ad.

Only the Senate version as passed, the House version of NDAA does not have the provisions for BAH cuts. Plus that whole thing about Guantanamo Bay and POTUS vetoing anything that includes extending the existence of that prison camp...still some way to go.

But to answer your question you cannot build a serious career out of an unstable foundation. Unless you only have eyes for your pension. which is also not entirely stable.

Members don't see this ad :)
Look, you joined the military after having been exposed to this forum. You knew. Now you'll just have to make lemonade.

Reactions: 2 users
With the 2017 NDAA passed (although not signed yet) I am having my first regrets in joining and I'm only a medical student. If they can screw with my BAH that severely without any change in my contract that is an incredible red flag. How can one make a career out of such an unstable foundation?
whats the issue with this? I just read that females are now required to be drafted if youre born on a certain date or after. how is this bad for HPSP/military docs?

whats the issue with this? I just read that females are now required to be drafted if youre born on a certain date or after. how is this bad for HPSP/military docs?

I think they are more interested in the cuts to BAH in the senate approved bill.