You decide where I apply...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pwned

derp
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Non-Trad - 3/8ths hispanic - so can i claim hispanic? - 32 y.o. - have some unique circumstances (grew up in VA) after H.S. pursued some professional sports opportunities abroad for 3.5 years before finally giving up...started my own company out in Los Angeles that has gone down the toilet b/c of the economy...I basically had fun and enjoyed life for 6 years out in Cali. Met a woman had a child...decided I needed a more secure life and always wanted to be an MD in hs. Joined military reserves to get free tuition and now 3.5 years on from that I am a resident of South Carolina and graduate of U - South Carolina. Where should I be applying outside of SC schools & VA schools?...SC resident, strong ties to VA, lived in CA for years also.

Stats:

Econ BS -
3.65 GPA
3.53 BCPM

29 MCAT - 10B 9P 10V

200 + hours volunteering
100 + hours shadowing
no research

no clue if I can claim hispanic (mom is 3/4ths) Imagine if i do my life becomes much easier.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You can. Lucky bastard.

3.65 GPA
3.53 BCPM

29 MCAT - 10B 9P 10V

200 + hours volunteering
100 + hours shadowing
no research

no clue if I can claim hispanic (mom is 3/4ths) Imagine if i do my life becomes much easier.
Your stats are decent but your ECs are on the thin side (though the shadowing is fine, and if the volunteering was all patient exposure, that's OK too, and you have something substantive to put for Sports). Research isn't required, but what about Leadership (maybe starting a company, depending), Teaching, nonmedical community service, Artistic Endeavors, Hobbies?

You can check two boxes for racial background. It wold help if you are fluent in Spanish and have some Latino cultural identity/involvement.

Members don't see this ad :)