Yet another... what are my chances.....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icdi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, after many years off --I graduated undergraduate in 1997, and a career in the pharmaceutical industry..... I really want to follow my passion and go to medical school. In undergrad I had no intention of going to medical school and although my overall undergraduate GPA as 3.3 my science GPA was 2.0 mainly due to terrible performance in physics and chemistry freshman and sophmore year....and I am afraid this may have killed my chances of ever getting into medical school.

Over the past two years I went back and re-took all my premed requirements getting A's in all of them (Chemistry, Physics, Organic, Biology) and now have a BMCP of 3.05 (because the undergrad chem/phy courses were 4 credits and I took 3 credit chem/phy courses for postbac and did not re-take the lab component as it was a separate course).

I should say that I also have an MPH degree and plan on taking the MCAT in January.

I have two questions:

1. Do I even have a chance at an allo school with a 3.1 GPA????? I have an upward trend but I would have to take many more classes to get it much higher.

2. I have some athletic training courses that fall under the athletic training departement (e.g., Anatomy and Physiology) will these count towards my BMCP or since they were specific to Athletic Training they will go into the non-science calculation.

I apprecaite any insight!!!!!

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

(1) Just to clarify, when you retook those classes, did you then average the old and new grades? Or did you replace them? MD schools use the former method, DO schools the latter.
(2) Any particular reason you're not considering DO schools?
(3) Any other volunteering/shadowing/clinical experience?