Yet another pay question...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brentunc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year med student planning my budget for the transition from renting an apartment as a student to buying a house as an intern. I had two questions.

1) I graduate on May 15. Since that is pay day (actually it is a Sunday, so pay day will be the previous Friday), will I get the entire second half of my monthly stipend or only 1/15th.

2) When do we start getting paid as captains. I know that residencies usually start in July but training starts as early as early-mid June.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

brentunc said:
I am a 4th year med student planning my budget for the transition from renting an apartment as a student to buying a house as an intern. I had two questions.

1) I graduate on May 15. Since that is pay day (actually it is a Sunday, so pay day will be the previous Friday), will I get the entire second half of my monthly stipend or only 1/15th.

2) When do we start getting paid as captains. I know that residencies usually start in July but training starts as early as early-mid June.

Thanks.

I'm going to jump in front of this train before some of our more cynical members throw you in front of it :smuggrin:

There is absolutely no way you can count on getting paid right away. In fact, it can take months to get your pay going correctly (30+ non-USUHS NMCSD interns in 2002 were not paid until Oct, right Rob?). You will ultimately get back pay to either your date of rank or when you come on active duty (whichever is latest) but it may take months for that to come about. If you need your paycheck to make your mortgage, my advice is to see it in your account before you buy anything. Hope this helps.