yet another non trad here ! Please give me your experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

penicillinman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long post here – so thank you for reading! I have been a long time reader on these forums and find it really amazing to read everyones struggles and the will power you all have! Also will put this out there – I realize this is a forum and one can not make life changing decisions based on a forum. My intention however is just to see what everyone thinks about my situation and to see if any of you were in a similar situation/what experience you had.

I was born and raised in Africa and now settled in the US (green card holder). I am a hospital pharmacist by profession but have always wanted to do Medicine. Growing up in Africa in a circle of poverty, I had big dreams and my plan of being the best possible person I can was by being a doctor – I was always fascinated at how I would go in as a sick child to a Dr and they would know exactly what is wrong with me – magic ! As I grew up I realized I needed to get out of Africa and what better place than find my dreams in the USA ! I have always excelled academically and that was my ticket out – ofcourse I quickly realized that there was no way in heck a poor international student like myself would ever get into a medical school in the USA. My plan than as an 18 year old was that “ I’ll get to America and figure it out”. My way out of Africa was by getting a scholarship to do pharmacy in an American school. I did not see myself as a pharmacist from day 1 of pharmacy school however after doing my research I realized that I needed to become a US resident in order to have a good chance to get into med school here. Heck, I was already in the US and doing pharmacy – may as well finish it – work for a few years and than go to medical school. It all seemed so easy back than! Mind you, all through pre pharmacy and pharmacy sch