Yet another decision help post

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sbm137

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I am an undergrad psych major at a top ranked public university. I am currently on the pre-medicine track and was hoping to be a Psychiatrist one day, however, science classes are killing me and I am starting to realize my deep dislike for math and sciences. They have always been my weaker subjects throughout high school. Writing and the arts are my stronger suits. I am averaging C's in my sciences (I have only taken 3 pre-med courses and am predicting to get C's in the two that I am currently in). I stress entirely too much about my GPA and worry almost every day about getting into med school. I also didn't originally want to go into the medical field as it is something that I think is really not for me but I was going to tough out in order to specialize in psychiatry. I have taken several psych courses and have got A's in all of them. I have been researching grad programs and reading forums on here and am now leaning towards the Psy D route. I am not all that interested in research to be doing it full time which I know is what the PhD programs for psych mostly entails. I just wanted to get people's opinions on if I should stick with the pre-med route or go the grad school route. Also would like to get some info from people with PsyD's about what grad school entails, if you had issues with getting internships or jobs, and if you think the debt that it could bring me is worth it . Thanks a bunch!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users