Yet another career switcher

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CTexile

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm strongly considering reapplying to medical school, 6+ years after being declined following my undergrad years and pursuing other options in the interim. A bit of background:

I'm 28, married, no kids. I have an MBA with a finance concentration (chaired the healthcare club while there, 3.6ish GPA) and was a general biology major (3.55 GPA, no undergrad research experience). I took the MCAT in August of 1999 (yes, I know I'll need to retake) and, if memory serves me, got a 29 overall- 10V, 10P, 9B. I app'd HMS, Tufts, Jefferson, UMass and BU but did a poor job on my applications since at that time I wasn't fully committed (which really showed in retrospect). I was interviewed at UMass, but was rejected by all 5 schools in the end. In the years since college (my BS was in 2000) I've worked in 2 neuroscience labs as a technician and in finance for a pharma-oriented market research firm, a financial services firm, a small biotech, and am currently with a major pharmaceutical company. I'm making fairly good money but don't have much in the way of savings, so finances will likely be a friction point.

There are a few weak points in my background that I worry will hurt me- a lack of career focus, leaving lab life twice (the lab positions were not consecutive), non-ideal GPAs (they're not bad, but they're not top-notch).