Yes, another low GPA thread. Help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ewKinematics

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I looked everywhere on these forums for this particular question and didn't see anything so forgive me if it actually is out there somewhere. So I have a bachelors degree, with a 3.37 cumulative GPA. The problem is my math and science GPA is pretty atrocious (like really below 3.0) My first two years were a nightmare and although I repeated the bio and ochem (and got As), it's still pretty atrocious! I see a lot of people saying to retake every class you get a low grade in at a CC and get As. I'm assuming adcoms would see this in a positive light, but what if your numbers are still bad because they're averaging ALL of your grades without any grade forgiveness/replacement??? So, if a pharmacy school has a minimum sGPA requirement of 3.2, and I'm rollin with 2.75 or something because the school decided to average everything (rather than just looking at my new grades from repeated courses which would be like a 4.0 for example) am I essentially screwed forever? :eek: Am I missing something here? Would a 91% PCAT help me at all? My grades are going to haunt me forever aren't they? Assistance please!

Members don't see this ad.

Er, quite honestly, I don't think retaking every class at a CC to get an A is really wise. If it's your only choice, then I guess you have to do what you have to do but it really looks like you're taking the easy way out especially if you were still enrolled at uni and then repeated classes at a CC.

Your CGPA is fine, so I'd just work on taking a few upper level sciences and acing them. Assuming your 91 PCAT includes high subscores in the sciences, it should help balance it out a bit, of course it depends on the school.

If anything, there's always schools like USN that have academic forgiveness that you can try