Years between applying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rolmos

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background: I finished undergrad in 2007 and sent in my applications to a few med schools that summer. I had good grades and an average MCAT, was pretty late in the application timeline, and ended up with no acceptances. So I took the next year off to focus on a few things that I didn't think I'd have time for in school (existential crap :p). I was planning on applying in 2009, but I had just gotten married and wanted to devote more time to our relationship. She is now finished with grad school and enjoying her job, and I am studying to re-take the MCAT. I wanted to be early on this cycle, but it doesn't look like that is possible if I want to be confident I'll get my target MCAT score (30). A couple schools that interest me require one or two upper-division science courses that I didn't take with the standard pre-med prerequisites. I have been working as an ER tech since I graduated, but money is an issue, so I don't want to waste an application cycle if I don't stand a decent chance of getting in. There is more background as to why I haven't squeezed in the time to apply, but I'm not saying that I have any unique problems.

Questions:
If I wait until the late-Aug/January MCAT, how can I show adcoms that the long delay between applications isn't due to a lack of motivation? I would feel much more comfortable, judging from my study schedule and what I've yet to accomplish, if I took the test in January and applied as early as possible on the next cycle. I also need to consider taking one or two more undergrad upper-div science courses next year if I plan on applying to a couple schools in particular. Is this necessary, anyway, since it has been years since I have taken a class? Is there anything I should be doing while I wait to apply, other than studying and working?