Y'all deserve better!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasMomma

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please take a couple of minutes and read this.

I am not a doctor, but was a nurse for 15 years. I wanted to give you Pain management doctors a shout out and a thanks! I will tell you why...

I found this site searching for new treatments and spent quite some time reading.

You see I am a 35 yr old mother, wife, daughter, and nurse.

About 10 years ago I had surgery for 2 ruptured disc's. It went well. Unfortunately 7 years later I started having trouble again. I can't remember a incident that caused the onset of pain. It was gradual.

I did the PT, massage, anti inflammatory meds, and a series of ESI'S. Magic! I felt 100% better. About 18 months later the pain started creeping in again. The first doctor was no longer in my area so my pcp referred me to a orthopedic surgeon. When I didn't want surgery (unless absolutely necessary) he referred me to pm again.

I went and he said he would do ESI'S at L4-L5. Great it worked last time. It went wrong way wrong. I should of questions why I was put to sleep for the injection in the first place, hindsight ya know.

I remember nothing for 2 days. When I woke on day 3 the pain was excruciating. Called his office to be told it was normal. Rinse and repeat same phone call for 3 weeks. Then I start wetting the bed and lost feeling in my thigh. Same phone call same answer. I waited another week and demanded to be seen.

He walked in, said well you were in pain before...so this pain is a bit worse I will just increase your medication. Handed me a script for fentanyl patches...I said I don't want this..I want to know why I am wetting the bed and can't feel my thigh? He said well its a risk you take when you get ESI'S and walked out.