Yale Vs UMass,UAB

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ankursegon

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice from u guys.I am an international medical graduate planning on doing a one year prohram in MPH.I have been accepted at Yale(Chronic disease epidemiology),Univ of Alabama(birmingham) and U of Massachusetts(Amherst).I am trying to compare the cost benefit ratio of these three places.None are offering me any aid,so thats not an issue.Yale will turn out to be costlier by atleast 15000-20000$.Now,the usnews rankings rate yale to be only one place above UAB.What i want to know is this-is it worthwhile spending more money on Yale keeping in view the employment opportunities after an MPH in epidemiology?I mean,is a yale label significantly more likely to affect my career opportunities vis a vis UAB or U Mass?
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I think your choice of schools should take into account where you want to work or settle after obtaining your MPH. I was accepted to the dual major program (Epidemiology and International Health) at UAB in 2002, but I am attending the University of South Florida now. UAB is a highly regarded university in the south, possibly as much or even more than Yale. Future employers may view the university you obtained your MPH from in a positive or negative way. Keep that in mind. Personally, I feel that you cannot go wrong with any of the schools. Also, it depends on where you thrive the most locationwise. I suggest you visit both schools if it is possible, take in the atmosphere, and base your decision on that if other priorites are ranked the same among the schools.