Wrote Step I, my thoughts on my prep and the actual exam

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psoralin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It's been one week since I wrote Step I. After you put so much work into something it feels like a waste not to share any of my experience so I'm therapeutically putting it down in this post haha

My Prep for Step I:

I'm an IMG so getting a good mark on this test was really important. I started studying in June by basically memorizing my First Aid while doing practice questions. When I needed to supplement anything I turned to the Kaplan vids and notes.

I went through three q-banks fully. I personally thought Kaplan was the worst by far. URx was what I started with and it was a good way to review First Aid but the questions were not as good as those from UWorld which I did third and closest to my test date.

In the days leading up to my test I reviewed all the UWorld Educational Objectives which was a great way for a fast high yield review.

By far the biggest help were the practice NBME's with feedback because it really helps you determine if your prep is paying off. Two weeks out from the test date I was getting 630/252 so it really helped my confidence.

The Test:

I was very surprised at how direct many questions on the exam were. You're almost lead to believe that each question will require two-step thinking but many were very straight forward. Some of these questions were disguised in big long clinical vignettes which is really annoying in my personal opinion. I don't feel I really get more out of it, and it's just a waste of time but whatever, I digress.