Writing your own LOR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

megswinter82

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I am a third year student and I just finished my OB/GYN rotation. My preceptor offered to write an LOR, but he wants me to write it and then he'll look it over and add/subtract from it as needed. Any tips on how to go about writing an LOR about yourself? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would strongly advise you to not write the letter yourself. First, there should be a clause to all LORs that you have WAIVED the right to see it yourself and therefore that clause could not be placed in the letter if you write it. Additionally, this is a letter that if the person knows you well should be easy for them to write. It is nice of them to offer to write you a letter, but is unethical to have you write your own letter of recommendation as it should be their own opinion of your skills.

I would advise you to discuss this with someone you trust in your deans office, or to give the physician your resume or a review of what you percieve as your strengths and weaknesses. Lastly if this person cannot be bothered to take the time to write you a letter themself is this really a letter you want sent out to programs?

Sorry to be negative, but this seems to be a really big red flag about using this persons letter. I can tell you that the LORs are really important and help differentiate candidates based on the content, so you want them to be as enthusiastic as possible.

Some folks offer this as an option because they are too busy to sit down an draft one from scratch, or have not been asked enough to write one and really don't know what to write... Regardless, he/she has offered to write one and that is what matters. I don't quite see the "ethical" issues raised by Shamrock, although he makes some valid points and I do respect his viewpoint.