Wow Way to be Put Off

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rainbowman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a premed, but I'm posting this here because I figure you guys would know more about this than in the premed forums.

So my uncle is an ENT who does well for himself in private practice. At a recent family dinner (which included friends too) the topic somehow changed to the touchy subject of money. Eek.

Anyway, what started the vitriol is not important, only the one comment someone at the table made directed at my uncle "Yeah well I'm not a rich doctor like you."

I mean, come on. The guy's an engineer-he's not exactly starving, but my uncle does outearn him nevertheless. This is a guy who's had no shortage of opportunities in his life, went to a good college, could have majored in anything he wanted, and chose engineering. This isn't a first amendment thing, it's just my opinion that if you have countless opportunities and choose something that doesn't pay very much, that's your choice and more power to you, but what right do you have to begrudge someone because they are a doctor and to support pay decreases for physicians. I'm sorry you made bad decisions career wise but that's your problem.

Know what I'm talking about? Any similar experiences?

Members don't see this ad.

We've all been there... heard that kinda thing.

In that situation, you could easily just educate the other person. Most people don't know how long it takes, how little we make through residency, how much we have racked up in student loans, the fact that your ENT uncle probably works more hours a week than the engineer, and also point out what you mentioned... everyone has their own career choices to make, etc.

I'm a premed, but I'm posting this here because I figure you guys would know more about this than in the premed forums.