Would the Georgetown SMP be worth it for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blackbird11384

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks for taking the time to read this post. Here is my story. I graduated this past May from Georgetown University with a bachelors of science in Biology and a minor in music. State of of residence is PA, and I a 22 year old White Male. My overal GPA is a 3.44 and my BCPM is a 3.4. I haven't taken the MCATs but diagnostics with no studying put me up at around a 26-27. I fare reasonably well on standarized tests when I practice for them, so I think with the time I have until the January 07 administration of the MCAT, I could get it to above a 30. Here is my experiece:

-Senior Thesis in Developmental Biology requiring 2 years of research, often 20-25 hours a week in the lab.
-Work Study for first 2 years of undergrad in the Biology Dept.
-Heavily involved in Theatre my soph and junior years (head carpenter for two productions, and head of sound design for another, not to mention countless hours of grunt work)
-Volunteered with a program that sent us out into DC to tutor Single Mothers that had experienced abuse and drug addiction. (Sophomore year, about 3 hours a week).
-Shadowed and volunteered about 10 hours a week the past two summers at a local hospital's ER.
-Paid Internship the summer after my freshmen year as a research assistant in the local hospitals Research Center.
-Licensed EMT-B in PA and DC.
-Currently applying for positions as Research Associate at Georgetown University Medical Center and other biotech companies in Maryland. I hope to work a research job for at least a year.