Medical Would previous matriculant at foreign med school be a huge red flag to US med schools?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I graduated from one of the top 20 research university in the U.S. in winter 2018 (a semester early) with 4.0 and 517 on MCAT (took it in June 2018). I always thought of applying to US med schools so just like other pre-meds, I spent a significant amount of time conducting basic science research, shadowing physicians, working as a TA, etc. Here comes the complicated situation. As a person who immigrated to U.S. with family in high school, I also considered MD options in my home country as well. It would have been ideal to coordinate the application timeline for med schools in US and my native country but unfortunately, med schools in my home country decided to shut down its admission path for people with 4-year college degree after 2018 so I just applied to schools in my home country first before applying to US schools and ended up getting into the #1 school in my country (the school is ranked about the 30th in the international med school ranking).