Medical Would my shadowing and volunteering abroad be looked down on? (Not medical mission trip)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non traditional student (American) living in Turkey. I have been living here for 3 years and even gave birth to my first child here. After my awesome experience with my OBGYN at the local hospital, I’ve decided to change career paths, move back to the US and start a DIY post bacc. Before moving, I plan to shadow my OBGYN and do some clinical volunteer work here in Turkey. However, I have read that adcoms can view any work abroad as voluntourism and I’m afraid to be lumped into that category.

I think you misunderstand the concept of "voluntourism" and why it is viewed as superficial experience (to possibly unethical depending on what the applicant did). In those situations (spend one week in a country in need working in a medical mission), one is not allowed to even touch a patient as if taking a physical. Since you have been living in Turkey, your shadowing experience is fine to list, but questions will remain on whether you have any insight into the US health care system and its nuances since that's where your medical school clinical preceptoring will occur. We advise all strong applicants to be in a situation with direct patient contact when it comes to conversation or care, especially in the US health care system (100-150 hours). We also have no information about your academic history or your interest in other areas of medicine outside OBGYN.

Members don't see this ad.

Thank you for your response! Sorry I didn't provide more background information. My response below got a little longer than expected, but I would appreciate any general advice you could offer pertaining to my overall situation. Not sure about my chances given my past GPA.