Would like to get your advice on my situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
J

Joao

Hi,

I am having a major dilemma whether I should take the board now or later. I would appreciate if you could offer me some advice on this matter.

I am an MD/PhD student about to begin PhD work. First 2 years of medschool was mediocre at best. I passed alrite but I put only 50% of my effort due to laziness/enjoying life. Because I felt that my path, micro, etc foundation was mediocre at best, I decided to take 5 months off after 2nd year to prepare for the board. First 3 months were terrible; very inneficient and unfocused. This month has been great. Thus far, I have been putting solid 9+ hours everyday. Although I still have 1 more month to prepare, I feel like I am running out of time and will not be able to review everything I need to review solidly (as I said, my basic sci foundation is not good).

Now I am debating whether I should postpone the board till after PhD. I could diligently review the board material little by little for about 3 years while I do research and take off 2 months after PhD for a focused preparation.

While I want to get done with the exam, I would like to obtain a good board score to help me land a spot in a competitive recidency program and partially absolve my mediocre yr 1,2 record.

Thanks for reading this long post and for your opinions!

Members don't see this ad.

I think you will have a hard time doing that. You will have to take classes during the first 2 years. Those will have very little to do with medicine at the best. And those may be more demanding than med school classes. In addition to that you will have to work in a lab. depending on which one you get to be in, you will have litlle/no time to think outside the 'research'.

and then there will be presentations to do, seminars to attend, etc....