Would it even make sense to try?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sammysan97

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a BA in Human biology from Hunter College (a CUNY) in 2019, when I started I thought I wanted to do pre-med, but over the course of my undergrad my plans changed constantly and I went between a bunch of career paths. However, I did horribly in undergrad; I spent more time goofing off and partying then studying and the result was I graduated with a 2.98. Basically my grades are all over the place, some A's, lots of B's, a few C's, a D, an F, two no credits, and 1 withdrawal. In the fall and spring of 2017-2018 I spent some time volunteering in a hospital and basically decided that I should do nursing. After graduating I took AP1 and 2, microbiology, and some other courses, and I got into the accelerated BSN program at SUNY Downstate and my academics improved significantly. I buckled down and actually put effort into my classes for the first time and graduated with a 3.75. I've recently been hired as a surgical ICU nurse and while I enjoy the job, there's a part of me that regrets not trying harder for my first degree and I always find myself asking why whenever I'm giving a patient medications or doing something, and I find myself amazed by the knowledge that the residents and attending physicians I work with on my unit have. I know that at the minimum I'd need to retake physics 1 and 2, and orgo 2 (and probably take biochem) and take the MCAT before I even consider applying. Basically with how badly I messed up my first degree, would it even make sense for me to try going down this route or would it be a waste of time and money?

Members don't see this ad.