Would being a Union Delegate hinder my chances to get into a great med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Would being a Union Delegate hinder acceptance to Med Schools?

• Total voters

DansStudentDocRole

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
To Whom It May Concern:

Hi. I'm premed. I'm a college senior. I work as a NY hospital nurse attenant and I'm about to become a Union Delegate (healthcare insurance Workers pay organization). Would being a Union Delegate hinder my chances into getting accepted into a medical school? I ask because I wonder if it would bind me to some organization which is contrary to the medical school. Or if being a delegate would require me as a commitment to do certain things even while in medical school? Or would being a delegate be bad for Medical school because delegates pledges / gets sworned into a situation where it wouldn't be looked well upon medical school?

Would being a Union Delegate require me to support things that medical schools don't like?

Please let me know because I am about to get the Union Delegate position while working in a hospital as a nurse assistant before medical school. I still haven't applied to any schools.

My mcat score is still pending.
My GPA is 2.5
My patient care experience is 8 years.
My volunteer experience is 8 years.

Members don't see this ad.

No, but unless this is a typo, this will be your problem.

I know. Anyone with a low GPA, should get it higher or substitute it with a high MCAT score along with a lot of patient care experience. Or might have to settle and go to a Caribbean school.

Members don't see this ad :)
Don't go carrib....at all. Raise the gpa, using the DO system with retakes and grade forgiveness is the fastest way. You need it in the 3.2ish range (some might look at a 3.0)

The union thing doesn't matter really

Reactions: 1 users
"Hi. I'm premed."

The troll hits us with our least favorite phrase!