Would anyone have studied MP3 review books?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stark

ApolloAudiobooks.com
Vendor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a PGY-3 who studied for all of the steps by recording my favorite review books (First Aid for the USMLE Step 1,2,3, UCV etc) and listening to them.

I am considering publishing these books as MP3 files for your IPod.

Would any of you have studied for your Steps this way? or is it just me?

Thanks,

Stark

Members don't see this ad.

Here's my story and how I did it:

As a medical student, I studied for the first semester the usual way. I read the books, took notes and highlighted stuff. The problem for me was that I would always try to memorize things as I went along. Each topic and each line I thought was important. . . and usually it is. But this method of studying made everything go quite slowly and the first six months I averaged about an 80% overall and was in the 50th percentile of my class.

I knew I was smarter than that, so I decided to change my studying strategy. Our class scribed notes, so I would go to lecture, then take the scribed note and read them into my tape recorder rather than annotate, study and highlight. Before each set of block exams, I would listen to the notes on tape 3 times. I no longer read the books for class (my theory was that anything that a professor would test you on, he would mention at least once). I still did some practice questions with friends as well. This strategy paid off and I graduated in the top 10 of my class.

The approach worked so well, that I studied for the boards this way. I took First Aid for Steps 1,2, and 3 along the way, Step Up for the USMLE, and Underground Clinical Vignettes as well as a couple of other books and recorded all of them and listened to study. This resulted in top board scores for all three Step exams and an ophthalmology residency in New York.