Medical Would an AdCom look past these red flags?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlteredScale

Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I currently work as an acute care speech-language pathologist and have 2500+ hours of direct contact with patients and collaborating with physicians/other allied health professionals. I've realized, however, that I love the case history/pathophysiology/education piece of SLP, but not the rehabilitation piece. I always find myself wanting to know more. Making the change to becoming a physician would allow me to continue helping people and allow me to satisfy my intellectual curiosity as to why/how various diseases/disorders occur. Now that I have had exposure to medicine, I see that being a physician is the path I should have been on all along. I am confident that I can do well in both my pre-reqs (which I have just started) and on the MCAT, and can easily start getting shadow and volunteer hours.

The problem is, I have some red flags in my past. For reference, I am 30 now.

1- uGPA: overall is a 2.84 due to a variety of factors, mostly centering around difficulty adjusting to college after high school was so easy/general immaturity. In the few hard science courses I took as an UG, I did earn As, though. My last 3 full semesters + 1 winterim of UG are mostly A/A-s, with 2 B+s, with a Dean's List each semester. I graduated UG in 2015, and subsequently earned a 3.85 GPA from my SLP masters program in 2018.

2- academic probation: due to one of the incidents discussed in point 3, I was briefly suspended from my undergraduate university for violating alcohol policy

3- criminal history: