Would a Post-bacc program really help??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kazavana

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I’ll give you a quick run down of my situation and ask for your advice. I’ve been an undergrad for 5 years, currently a graduating senior. For the first 3 years of my undergrad career, my family and I had a tough financial situation. I had to work 30-60 hours per week (averaging 45). Two years ago, though, my family was able to get out of this financial rut and I was able to quit my jobs.

Since then I:

Have been on the deans list with the lowest semester GPA being a 3.65
Am graduating with Honors in Math and Natural Sciences
Received an NIH Minority Research Scholarship (1 of 3 students from my school)
Volunteered @ a local ambulance corps as an EMT (2 years so far)
Volunteered @ Local Hospitals ED (2 years so far)
Conducted Clinical Research @ the same hospital (2 years so far)
Conducted Bench Research @ a lab in my school – currently working on a paper to be published (2 years so far)
Presented my research (bench) @ various regional and national conferences (sometimes being the only undergrad in the conference)
Co-Founded the first community service based club on my campus (Club VP) – we conduct various community service events
Got a 37 on my MCAT!:D

BUT

My cumulative GPA is a 3.18:(
BCMP GPA is a 2.96:(
Have 2 F’s on my record (1 of them was Gen Chem 2 – have recently taken retaken classes and got A and A-) and a C- in Orgo 2:(

Currently I:
Got accepted into my schools Masters Program
Got accepted for a 2 year NSF Masters Research Scholarship
Got accepted into Columbia Univ. Medical Center’s Summer Research Program
Am contemplating applying to med school this year or next year