Worst thing you've done to a patient

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

waterski232002

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So... I'm bored at work and need something to do. I figured I'd start a thread on the worst thing we've done to a patient iatrogenically. We've all messed up--it's part of residency, part of life, and part of learning. How about we pull out those old skeletons and share some stories of what we have inadvertently done in the past.

Members don't see this ad.

I'll start... When I was a 3rd year medical student, I ruptured an umbilical cord on a pregnant lady while delivering her placenta. It was a bit of a mess for awhile until the OB resident manually removed the placenta.

I also fluid overloaded a lady s/p pneumonectomy with a large malignant pleural effusion on her remaining good lung, put her into pulmonary edema, and she coded. We got her back thank god.

I unplugged a patient's ventilator to recharge my cellphone.

Just kidding...

I had a drunk and unruly patient in the ED. He was in four-point leathers. He kept swearing and spitting so I put a surgical mask over his face (loosely of course). He kept spitting and ended up covered in his own saliva. That did make him happier but it kept the poor police officer that was with the drunk from getting covered.

njbmd;)

A friend of mine told me this story

There was a patient who was a royal pain in the *ss in the ED with a chin lac. He had a thick beard and didn't want the lac sewn. He kept cursing me out and telling me what a bad doc I was. While I was interviewing other patients he would take away my chair or move my stuff around, still bitching at me.
He wasn't even drunk, he was just a nightmare. I couldn't DC him because the attending wouldn't see him.