Worst Day in NBDE1 Prep

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

enamel prizm

Member since 2007
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Friends I am going to take NBDE1 for the second time on June 30th, previously I scored 86 in December 2009. However because of my embarrassingly low GPA I feared my application for Advanced Standing Program will be thrown out by the admission committee and hence decided to try to improve the score to make it look a little better :)
Gone are the days when GPA didn't matter and 86 was the equivalent of 92 of today ...... sigh.... Anyways for my second attempt I studied really hard and long and made my notes and tried to develop some concepts but at my age it is really difficult to develop new connections between neurons and significantly improve the functioning of the Hippocampus but I didn't give up and burnt the midnight oil.
I thought I had done the decks and the NBDE First Aid quite well, as well as the ASDA released exams and felt that I was at this point much better prepared then I was the last time however I had purchased the First Aid Questions book sometime ago but didn't get a chance to go through it until today. I was appalled to find out that my performance was very poor, I scored 75% in Anatomy, 60% in Biochemistry/Physiology, 65% in Microbiology/Pathology and 90% on DA, it was such a rude awakening.
I found that the questions in Biochemistry were especially difficult, I think I know the concepts and facts and can reproduce them if asked in a straightforward way like in the ASDA papers but this book just floored me and I am having second thoughts about my second attempt, I may as well end up scoring less than 86 and then I would have to spend the rest of my life with a paper bag over my face :)