WORRIED undergrad!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ahh420

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So I'm a third year undergrad now and I just became interested in the Optometry field. However, I'm majoring in Cognitive Science (and planning to take the required classes for Optometry School) but I'm afraid I may be too late. It seems like I should already be shadowing/volunteering, etc. and my grades aren't all too great.

Is Optometry out of the question for me?

Members don't see this ad.

First there is always time, it really depends on how much you want to do optometry. I'm not sure how many pre-reqs for opt school you've done with your cog sci major, but if you can't plan out the required classes that you need until you graduate, then you should consider taking classes over the summer, or a year off.

Find out more about optometry. If you get the opportunity, try to shadow or observe at an office to get a feel for what it's like, or talk to your own optometrist. At least you'll get your feet wet and see if it's worth pursuing.

So, first try to plan out how you'll finish all the pre-reqs. Some schools will allow you to finish pre-reqs after you're accepted, but try to keep that to a minimum because you don't want that to hinder your chances getting into a school.

Next plan when you're going to take the OAT. Berkeley has a rough timetable of when you should get things done. Their deadline is the earliest for applications, so I went off their timetable. Other schools will accept applications earlier too. http://spectacle.berkeley.edu/opt_txtpp/admissions/admittime.html
You might want to sign up for a prep course, too, if you need it.