Worried about getting accepted...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

live2serve

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
Over the past couple of weeks, I've gotten myself worked up into a state of worry about my acceptance to optometry school. So, in an effort to help ease some of this tension, I'm looking for the thoughts and advice of some of you who have been active in the optometry community for longer than I have.

My Background: I graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Mechanical Engineering 4-5 years ago. Entering undergrad, I moved out of state, and attended PSU, where I didn't do as well as I should've, mainly due to the poor (read "non-existent") study habits I had developed through the public school system, which hands out A's and B's for doing next to nothing. Following my first 2 years at PSU, I had under a 3.0 GPA, a high-stack of student loans, and a harsh reality to face. I moved back to my home area, and took a year off to start paying off loans, and focus on what I wanted to do. Following that year sabbatical, I entered a SUNY school in the Mechanical Engineering program. Two and a half years later, I graduated summa cum laude from their program with a 3.97 GPA. This puts my total GPA for my optometry application at about a 3.31.

Now, unfortunately due to my undergrad degree, I'm quite deficient in representative science courses. I've obviously had general chems, and a boat load of physics, and I took o-chem I over last summer... all of which I have A's in. I still have to take all my bios, microbio, biochem, anatomy, physiology, etc.., of which I am simply taking all the prerequisites over the next year.

This does worry me quite a bit, as my OAT (first and hopefully only attempt) is in a couple of days, and I've spent about the past 1.5 months trying to teach myself all of this.