Worried about college/med school

hs2013

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
See I am only a sophomore in high school and I would consider myself quite smart, through 3 semesters I have about a 3.86 gpa without really trying. But that is my problem I don't have much of a work ethic, it really sucks because I want to succeed but I have no motivation to do the work, I want the "easy way out." I just fear that once in college that will screw me over and then I won't be able to get into med school, or even if I make it to med school a lack of work ethic will screw me over. I just don't know...

Members don't see this ad.

See I am only a sophomore in high school and I would consider myself quite smart, through 3 semesters I have about a 3.86 gpa without really trying. But that is my problem I don't have much of a work ethic, it really sucks because I want to succeed but I have no motivation to do the work, I want the "easy way out." I just fear that once in college that will screw me over and then I won't be able to get into med school, or even if I make it to med school a lack of work ethic will screw me over. I just don't know...

It's a pretty common problem to have. I'd guess that the majority of people on this board were able to pretty much breeze through high school without needing to try very hard for any sustained period of time. But at some point we learn how to study, how to work hard and apply knowledge appropriately. Those who 'figure it out' in undergrad are a lot better off than those of who maybe try to go into med school with the same cramming habits only to find out too late that the game has changed big-time. You didn't really ask a question, but if you're looking for advice I'd say first off enjoy high school and second try to find some motivation to develop those time management and learning habits that will be so important later on no matter if it's med school or anything else.