Workup question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShinyDome19

Evil in the making...
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am a IM resident. I had a patient come in over the weekend evening from a Nursing Home. 95 yo F. Had a recent stroke <1-month ago, prior to which the pt was functional per records. So, the pt "Was found down in the Nursing Home, non-responsive and "guppy" breathing", was the only sign out that I received from the ER resident, as that was all he got from EMS when they arrived. No paper work or anything. Pt had an oxygen requirement of about 2L NC, prior to this event she had none. ER resident got a UA/BMP/CBC and called me for admission.
So, my differential just from that was very high suspicion for PE. However, I figured that even if it came back positive, I wouldn't be able to do anything for the patient really. The pt's UA came back dirty, high WBCs/Mucus/Bacteria. So, I opted to treat the patient for the UTI in hopes that the majority of her AMS was secondary to UTI. CBC showed WBC of ~13.
Exam on the patient, other than being elderly and looking pale as can be, was pretty benign. Breath sounds were CTA bilaterally.
So, the next day comes around and I present the patient to the attending and she just goes on an on about how bad it was that I didnt scan the patient for a PE. I told the attending my justification was that even if it did come back positive for PE, I wouldn't be able to anticoagulate the patient, and it just added fuel to the fire. At the end of the month review of my work, my attending just went back to that one case and harped on it again and never really gave me a good reasoning as to why I was wrong.

Just curious if anyone would have done the CT-PE and why? Is there something I am missing.

Members don't see this ad.