Working While in DPT program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CJonesrun

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are any of you currently students that work? While I haven't been accepted yet (applied at UCF), I'm seriously panicked about trying to support myself and my husband while in school. My husband makes lousy money and is working on his Bachelor's; I worked full-time while doing my MEd and got a 4.0, but DPT should be far more challenging. Since I graduated with my BA in 1996, I retook a few classes (my lowest grades) locally and got 2 A's and one B (one point from an A, part of points lost when I chose to attend a funeral for a family member instead of class). I'm 37 and don't have the option not to work. Does anyone do it?
My teaching job is 4 nights a week, about 30 hrs. I'm thinking of recertifying with NASM for CPT and CES to try to make money that way, along with a part-time online teaching job that I have.
Of course, if I don't get in, all of this worry could be for nothing. But then I might try to get in the nursing BA to BSN bridge program and then a nurse practitioner program with an ortho focus.
Or, buy lottery tickets, donate massive sums of cash to get acceptance and go from there....:laugh:

Members don't see this ad.

From what I've experienced so far, it's nearly impossible to hold down a regular job in this program :p Which is really unfortunate considering how much debt we accumulate!