Working on liens and letters of protection; do you do it, what are the pros and cons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ligament

Interventional Pain Management
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm considering doing some lien work/letter of protection work on MVA and personal injury cases. I have little experience with this. Do you have any experience to share? How much do you bill? Appreciate your thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm considering doing some lien work/letter of protection work on MVA and personal injury cases. I have little experience with this. Do you have any experience to share? How much do you bill? Appreciate your thoughts.

You can basically bill charges. But, you're betting on the come. It can take years and years for these cases to grind through the system and the doctors are ALWAYS paid last. Also, expect that whatever your bill is it will be negotiated down because the settlement wasn't as big as expected, the legal fees were higher than expected, and, oh yeah, doctors get paid last...

You can basically bill charges. But, you're betting on the come. It can take years and years for these cases to grind through the system and the doctors are ALWAYS paid last. Also, expect that whatever your bill is it will be negotiated down because the settlement wasn't as big as expected, the legal fees were higher than expected, and, oh yeah, doctors get paid last...

it does pay pretty well though . They can’t fully **** you as you can reject their reduction which leads to the coiffed deciding . More time and money. Need to have decent relationship with law firm I think

Members don't see this ad :)
it does pay pretty well though . They can’t fully **** you as you can reject their reduction which leads to the coiffed deciding . More time and money. Need to have decent relationship with law firm I think

What % of medicare charges do you bill these cases for?