Working full time + taking science courses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epicurious

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional applicant, working full-time for a non-profit in international health.

I've signed up for 2 courses this fall at U of Maryland - Microbio and Gen Chem. I have my pre-reqs from undergrad and I am taking courses to show academic improvement and abilities since I graduated several years ago.

I'm a bit anxious about taking 2 courses while continuing to work full-time. I have a 40+ hours / week job that also requires some overseas travel. I'll talk to the professors in advance about missing a class or two this fall due to travel.

Is this an overly ambitious schedule? I've studied for the MCAT so hope that Gen Chem and the MCAT G Chem prep overlap in material.

Any advice from others who have been in similar situations?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

40+ with overseas travel + 2 courses is pushing it, I think. You're going to be putting 6 hours of class time in and about 12 of studying. Gen Chem isn't hard, but Microbio is if it's the 300-level course I'm thinking about.

It's the 200 level Microbiology course. Does that make it better?

I'm torn between over-extending myself and not having non-intro level science courses to show "hey, I could be great in med school" :)

I might just need to give up working and find a more flexible job. Tough decisions to make...

Members don't see this ad :)
40+ with overseas travel + 2 courses is pushing it, I think. You're going to be putting 6 hours of class time in and about 12 of studying. Gen Chem isn't hard, but Microbio is if it's the 300-level course I'm thinking about.

12 hours is a lot... right? im assuming you're referring to 12 hours per week of studying.

I'm a non-traditional applicant, working full-time for a non-profit in international health.