Working for the armed forces as a civilian dentist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SAban

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year dental student and have found some listings on USAjobs.com.

Looks to me like you can pick your place of work (US or overseas) and the pay seems pretty competitive.
Is anyone doing this or know somebody that is? I would like to know if you have the last word on where you want to go (ie Germany or Japan)?

How is the life of a civilian dentist overseas? Do you still get to live on base?

Thanks for any input on this.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure about oversees, but stateside it is run through a contractor service. There are several contractors like CNI (Chickeshaw Nation something or other). My advice would be to contact the base, post you are interested in, ask which contractor service has the contract for that post. Then ask for their contact information. Things maybe different oversees.

The crappier the location the better the pay. Just look at Lawton Oklahoma :smuggrin: (ft sill)

Sorry Sooner Fan, nothing personal OKC's a nice place to visit.

Looks to me like you can pick your place of work (US or overseas) and the pay seems pretty competitive.
Is anyone doing this or know somebody that is? I would like to know if you have the last word on where you want to go (ie Germany or Japan)?

How is the life of a civilian dentist overseas? Do you still get to live on base?

The Army will not accept any civilian dentist that does not have at least 1 year of experience.