Women in obstetrics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qtdoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, my question is mainly for the women in ob/gyn. I am a first year medical student and have always loved the field, however, all I hear from family, professors, and pretty much everyone around me is that it is not conducive to a family lifestyle. I was just wondering what your experiences have been in the ob-gyn residency, how many hours you work and how you feel, etc, because although I am only a first year, it's a little disconcerting to be told everyday that the reason I came to medical school (to become an ob-gyn) is something that is inconsistent with the life I want to lead. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a third-year (male) med student who unexpectedly loved my ob/gyn rotation, and am struggling a bit with the same issues/questions. (It's not just women who want to have time for a family and a life outside of medicine).

Ob/Gyn is simply never going to a be a "lifestyle" specialty the way that a field like derm is. But I have the sense that just how bad the lifestyle of a practicing ob is depends a lot on the individual and the practice they belong to. I've met some docs who say it's a very demanding field, and others who say it's changing and that there is a way to find work/life balance, so I don't know if there's a straightforward answer to your question. There does seem to be a trend, at least where I live, of Ob's practicing in very large groups so that they can share call; the call nights are still pretty rough, but for an attending in this sort of set-up they might be on call only once every 2-3 weeks. If anybody else cares to comment, I would love to hear your thoughts.