Women in Critical Care?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spumoni620

.:good girl down:.
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm an intern who has absolutely fallen in love with ICU/critical care medicine. I love the constant learning, the challenge, procedures, emphasis on pathophysiology, etc. (not to mention every ICU attending I've ever worked with is crazy smart).

In 4 years of med school and 1 year of residency, though, I've never worked with a female attending or fellow. What's up with that? Is it burnout? The work/life issue? Although I'm not married/don't have kids yet, one day I'd like to - is that hard to do in CCM? It seems like with the shift work thing it might be doable, but how does that work?

Also, on a related note: how competitive is pulm/CC? Do I need to have done specific research in the field?

Thank you for any insight and help!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,
I'm an intern who has absolutely fallen in love with ICU/critical care medicine. I love the constant learning, the challenge, procedures, emphasis on pathophysiology, etc. (not to mention every ICU attending I've ever worked with is crazy smart).

In 4 years of med school and 1 year of residency, though, I've never worked with a female attending or fellow. What's up with that? Is it burnout? The work/life issue? Although I'm not married/don't have kids yet, one day I'd like to - is that hard to do in CCM? It seems like with the shift work thing it might be doable, but how does that work?

Also, on a related note: how competitive is pulm/CC? Do I need to have done specific research in the field?

Thank you for any insight and help!!