Witnessing Questionable Practices as a PT Tech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redtegu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a tech at an outpatient ortho clinic and am witnessing some questionable practices there. Some things may be illegal while others just seem unfair to patients. As practicing PTs, I would like your opinion on these things...is it the norm?

75 patients per day spread over 4 PTs (9 hour day), double or triple bookings per hour is normal.
6 techs

Techs are occasionally asked to perform massages. The patient is billed for this. Techs are not licensed MTs...in fact we have no training whatsoever on massage!

At least 50% of patients only work with a tech and have no interaction with their PT. This means the tech does the ultrasound, e-stim, and runs them through all thera ex. This has gotten to the point where some of our elderly patients actually think techs are PTs...

Medicare/worker's comp patients sometimes work with techs only. (Not allowed in TX?)

I feel a lot of patients are being cheated...but maybe this is the norm when a clinic is trying to keep up it's productivity. It just doesn't seem right to me.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't doubt there are facilities like this out there, where unethical practices are condoned. However, I have been lucky enough to not have experienced something like this myself. The outpatient clinics where I have observed do not hire physical therapy technicians or PTAs at all, as they want to provide the best PT/patient care possible, as they told me after I had asked them if they employed any PTAs or techs. They do accept volunteers though to help clean tables, laundry, ready machines and equipment, etc.

I, too, would like to hear from any PTs, SPTs, PTAs, etc if they have had any experience with these types of situations, and what they did? I personally, would not want to work in that sort of environment.