With an MD does the Bschool name matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EastCstBound

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a first year med student gearing up to take the GMAT this summer, and in thinking of applying to business school, firstly, my medical school doesn't have a joint program, so I'll have to go somewhere else. There are students who do an MBA here but the other thing is that its a top 10 MBA program and I have very little work experience and probably wouldn't get in on that alone. So for the most part I'm looking for B schools with 1 year programs and I guess I'm really just wondering if the name of the B school matters if you get an MD from a prestigious med school. While the people I'd be exposed to at a non-top 10 will be different, the basic education is the same no?

What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

I can't comment on your chances of getting in one place vs another, nor can I say how much ranking plays a role for an MD. I just want to know why you're applying to business school as an M1. Are you planning on taking a year off to pursue your MBA? What do you plan on doing with an MBA?

the education at medical school is much more standardized than at B school. The name on a B school is MORE important that where you get your MD. Hope the GMAT goes well, apply to the best B schools possible with your stats. The MD helps considerably with acceptance to top B schools. Think big and apply to schools that you think may be out of reach based on your stats. Your medical school training counts as work experience. Hope this helps.

Members don't see this ad :)